James P. Hoffa – President of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters

James P. Hoffa’s goal is to make his union the most powerful union in North America and an essential voice for workers’ families… and he is well on his way to doing just that! Under his management, the Teamsters union is signing profitable employment contracts for its members and expanding its membership. Thanks to Hoffa, the issues affecting Teamsters members are being heard loud and clear in Washington.

Hoffa spent his entire life getting ready to head up the Teamsters Union. He knows that together, nothing can stop the Teamsters from achieving great things. He is currently heading a union that’s living up to its legend.

Hoffa is one of the leading figures of the labour movement, and he makes sure that the voices of union members are heard by policy makers, especially when it comes to economic policies and anti-union tactics in the business world. Hoffa is recognized as a leader on workers’ issues.

Ken Hall – General Secretary-Treasurer of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters

A second-generation Teamster, Ken Hall has been a member since 1976. He began his career in the oil fields working for Pennzoil, and then became a shop steward before sitting on the negotiating committee for 11 years. Brother Hall was appointed union representative for Local Union 175 in 1987, and was elected Vice President in 1989 and then President in 1990. He was elected as the IBT’s General Secretary-Treasurer in 2011.

Hassan Yussuff – President of the Canadian Labour Congress

Hassan Yussuff was elected President of the Canadian Labour Congress in May 2014, becoming the first person of colour to lead Canada’s labour movement. Hassan is known for his activism not only in Canada, but also across the globe. In 2016, he was elected for a second term as president of the Trade Union Confederation of the Americas, an organization that unites more than 60 million workers in 23 countries.

The Honourable Patricia A. Hajdu – Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour

Patty Hajdu was elected as Member of Parliament for Thunder Bay-Superior North in 2015. She was appointed to cabinet by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and served as Minister of Status of Women from November 2015 until January 2017, when she was appointed as Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour. Minister Hajdu previously worked in public health and focused on drug policy, youth development and homelessness. Prior to her election, she ran the largest homeless shelter in Northwestern Ontario.

Daniel Boyer – President of the Quebec Federation of Labour (FTQ)

Daniel Boyer was elected president at the 30th Convention of the FTQ in November 2013, after serving as secretary general from 2010 to 2013. He has been a member of the FTQ since 1978 and served as president of Local 298 of the Québec Union of Service Employees (Syndicat québécois des employées et employés de service). The president of the FTQ is also on the board of directors and executive committee of the Fonds de solidarité FTQ, and serves on the executive committee of the Canadian Labour Congress (CLC).

Robert Blakely – Canadian Operating Officer of Canada’s Building Trades Unions

Robert Blakely has been the Canadian Operating Officer for Canada’s Building Trades Unions since 2000. A respected voice in Ottawa, he is the spokesperson for 14 unions representing close to 400,000 workers in the construction industry. He has in-depth knowledge of the issues these workers are facing. In 2008, Mr. Blakely received an honorary doctorate of laws from Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John’s Campus. He was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2012.

Don Davies – NDP MP for Vancouver Kingsway

Don Davies was born on January 16, 1963 in Edmonton. He is the Member of Parliament for Vancouver Kingsway (BC) and serves as the NDP Critic for Health. Prior to his current post, Don served as Official Opposition Critic for International Trade. Before entering politics in 2008, he worked as director of the Legal Department for Teamsters Local Union 31 from 1992 until he was elected to the House in 2008.

John Parisella – Raoul-Dandurand Research Chair in Strategic and Diplomatic Studies

John Parisella has degrees in political science from Concordia University and McGill University. He is an associate member of the Raoul-Dandurand Research Chair in Strategic and Diplomatic Studies (Chaire Raoul-Dandurand en études stratégiques et diplomatiques). He also served as director general of the Liberal Party of Québec in the 1980s and as chief of staff for two former Québec premiers. A renowned educator and communicator, John Parisella is a frequent guest on public affairs programs, where he discusses American politics in particular.

Clint Marquardt – Human Fatigue Specialist

Clint Marquardt is the only fatigue specialist who has worked as a senior human factors investigator at the Transportation Safety Board of Canada. He modernized the approach by encouraging the TSB to take into consideration the impact of fatigue on humans, particularly when it comes to accidents and incidents. He has written a Guide to Investigating Sleep-Related Fatigue, as well as the Fatigue Risk Management Guiding Philosophy for the Teamsters Canada Rail Conference.

Enjoli DeGrasse – Industrial Hygienist, International Brotherhood of Teamsters

Enjoli has been employed by the International Brotherhood of Teamsters (IBT) since 2008. She is a board certified industrial hygienist in comprehensive practice. She is actively involved in providing technical and regulatory support to rank-and-file Teamster members, and local unions on issues like transportation safety, occupational safety and health, hazardous material handling, and worker safety and health training.